Snoooooze button

This morning I hit the snooze button harder than a college student hits the booze after exam week. Not only did I hit that button but I reset my alarm to my ‘get up in time to make it work’ hour faster than you would believe.
It. was. awesome.
This whole lack of sunshine in the morning thing puts a damper on leaping out of bed at 5 am to go work it at the gym! It doesn’t help that I’m getting back into the pre-work gymmin’ it routine after my hiatus due to applications. So, tomorrow Imma get my butt outta bed when that alarm goes off so I can get sweaty on that bike.
(I may put my alarm across the room so I have to get out of bed to turn it off.)
However, I wanted to mention that despite not making it to the gym, I did something sort of awesome today. I didn’t stress about it. A year ago, I would have been planning all day what I should do about the missed workout. Could I squeeze something in during lunch at work? (fyi the answer is typically 99% negatory.) What about changing all my evening plans in order to make it to the gym to bust my butt? And let’s not discuss chocolate. I would have panicked about eating any sort of sweet thing since I couldn’t workout. Guess what? I had a few pieces of this tasty ‘key lime bark’ (don’t knock it till you’ve tried it) at work. And THEN had dessert after dinner tonight. That’s. right.

Chocolate. I love you. (Awesomeness from Astor Bake Shop in Astoria)

Obviously not what I had for dessert tonight, but had to put the picture in. Because it’s pretty. And there’s chocolate.

I’ve learned after being injured for so long and having to re-examine how I workout and eat that it’s ok to miss a day of exercise. Maybe even two days in a row. I know. Jump back folks. This is big. I won’t gain 10 pounds just by hitting the snooze button one morning and skipping the gym.
I think my friend M said it best when she, her boyfriend and I were discussing mountain biking, frisbee, running and our general love for doing that kind of stuff. Her bf said I needed to not be in a constant state of injured, and asked M what she did to not be injured all the time. “I just listen to my body” she said with a shrug and a smile.
Well summmabitch. I almost threw a pillow at the girl.

She’s so on point it’s not even funny.

So, if you’ll excuse me I’m going to go do my PT for my shoulder -which is feeling SO MUCH BETTER- and then go to bed. I have a date with a bike workout tomorrow.

I’ll leave you with this picture from weekend fun: Apple picking near Cville. So much fun!

So this weekend I went apple picking. It was fun.

Yes, I went completely decked out in flannel. It’s fall. I’m working on embracing it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

