Thankful things thursday

It’s thursday! And folks, this thursday is special. Because today I got a cortisone shot. AKA liquid steroid injected into the subacromial space in my right shoulder. Super fun. (See here for details regarding both impingement and the injection.)

Corticosteroid injection into the subacromial space. Look it's even the right shoulder!


(source )

The shot itself was fine. My shoulder felt a little tingly, wobbly and definitely weak for a little bit. However I appear to be in the minority of people who don’t improve and whose pain actually increases. It’s supposed to subside after 48 hours. And if it don’t, we got problems.

So I’m doing something kind of crazy. I am taking the day off work tomorrow. I don’t like doing this. But my doctor told me I’m supposed to completely rest it. Daily activities are fine but I shouldn’t even do physical therapy until Sunday. And I should keep my elbows below shoulder level as much as possible. So when I asked my doctor the fifth ‘Now, what if I did X thing at work? Would that be bad?’ she looked me up and down and said, ‘I’m going to get you a note that says you shouldn’t work tomorrow. I think that would be best.’

Well ok then. And commencing things I am grateful for:

New treatments for shoulder injury! Please please please please please please work. Please. I would like it to be better. Please.

Tofusausage. With noodles, broccoli, mushrooms and marinara sauce. Deeeelicious. Thanks to Ali from yumveggieburger for leaving these tasty morsels for me to try!

I was able to go to the gym yesterday and today and work out! Ankle is good to go.

A creme brulee latte courtesy of starbucks. And a free drink coupon. WIN. (Yes I got the venti. And drank it in two sittings. awesome)

Tomorrow I am going to Carl’s in fburg. I. am. SO. FRIGGIN excited!

I hope the line will look like this. I fear it will wrap around the barriers as it has done so many times in the past.


Photo courtesy of Sabrina.

And yes. I do plan on buying enough to bring some home. Mmmm. mmm. mm. It’s seriously so good.

Now I think it’s time to go to bed before I have to wipe the drool up off my keyboard.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

